The Awfully Limited Stats of WordPress.com

The WordPress.com stats are awful. Sure, it gives you which pages have been viewed. Yeah, that and the phrases that led people to your site. But there’s really a dearth of information. For example, which search engines were used for those phrases? Where is the visitor path report? Browsers? Operating system? And so on.

It’s not just the poor stats. It’s that they prevent you from even effectively using third party web statistics by their removal of all JavaScript code whenever you post. So all you can do is use the stats’ basic image option, which can’t really provide sufficient information.

I want better stats. And I want JavaScript support for my blog entries.

Filed in: Web Design, Web Hosting, WordPress

6 Responses to The Awfully Limited Stats of WordPress.com

  1. drmike says:

    Why not download the wordpress software from http://wordpress.org and find yourself your own host? You could add in any stat software you want after that.

  2. florafaunarocks says:

    I did. Unfortunately, as I mentioned in my first blog post here, the host is unreliable, to put it mildly. My site has been unavailable since early December. But it was a free host, so I guess I got what I paid. 😦

  3. drmike says:

    Oh, sorry. Didn’t see that. Why not find a better host then? I used to use synhosting.com and was very happy with them.

    The javascripts are removed due to security issues. If they were allowed, it would be child’s play for me or a hacker to upload a script, lift your login cookies, and gain access to your blog or anyone elses. It also too easy to gain access to the underlying php files which would also put everybody’s sites at risk. Please remember that all 2+ million blogs are run off a single copy of the wordpress multiuser code.

    FAQ for reference.

  4. florafaunarocks says:

    Thanks for the link and explanation. I guess this is a necessary precaution due to the setup.

    At this point, I’m sure I’m ready to go for paid hosting yet. But thanks. I’ll keep the recommendation in mind.

  5. […] Unfortunately, I can’t put that script here, since wordpress.com doesn’t allow JavaScripts. […]

  6. […] Will WordPress.com Please Provide Us Better Web Statistics? Yesterday, when I looked at the HTML code for my blog on WordPress.com, I noticed that WordPress.com put some Google Analytics tracking code into the blog. As a blogger, I have no access to that data. Instead, I have the smidgen of information WordPress deigns to reveal in its half-baked, brain-dead stats report. And I can’t even put my own Google Analytics code, because JavaScript is not allowed. […]

Leave a Reply

