Paulo Coelho to Fans: Please Pirate My Books

I had to do a little investigation before I wrote this post. When I first saw the Pirate Coelho blog, I was a bit suspicious at first. The blog claims that the author allows his books to be freely distributed, and in fact lists links to all the sites and torrents that have his books. But, as you know, copyright infringers can say things like that too, to make their site look legit. So I tried to find the real author’s blog, and to my surprise, he links to the Pirate Coelho site! In fact, his picture has him wearing a black patch! LOL!

This is truly an author who understands the Internet phenomenon and knows how to take advantage of it. I mean, honestly, if not for this stunt, I’d never have heard of this author let alone buy his books. Now, I’m going to download a book to see if I like it. If I do, I’ll buy it. It’s easier to read stories in print than online. Plus I can cart it around when I travel. Plus I can support the enlightened chap.

Filed in: Entertainment, Advertising.

3 Responses to Paulo Coelho to Fans: Please Pirate My Books

  1. aarthilal says:

    hello!
    I’m a big Paulo Coelho’s fan and I don’t know if you heard about his blog
    http://www.paulocoelhoblog.com
    I’ve started as a fan and now I’m collaborating with him and thought that you would like to enter his universe.
    Check the blog.
    if you want, or subscribe to his newsletter
    http://www.warriorofthelight.com/engl/index.html
    You’ll see a community of warriors of light sharing ideas, dreams and most importantly following their personal legend.

    QUOTE OF THE DAY:

    We need to forget what we think we are, so that we can really become what we are.

    Have a nice day!

    Aart

  2. […] Some time back, I wrote about the Internet-savvy strategy of author Paulo Coelho, who asked his readers to pirate his books in order to become more well-known. It looks like Tor Books is now making digital copies of […]

  3. […] paragraph. I think that copyright laws serve a useful purpose, which is why when I first heard that Coelho was releasing his books for free on the Internet, I wanted to check to make sure that it was really true before I drew attention to […]

Leave a Reply

