Second Thoughts on WordPress’ Default Theme

I mentioned a while back how I thought WordPress’ default theme fared pretty well against the checklist for blog theme design. I have now changed my mind. After running this blog for nearly two months now, I’ve belatedly realized that there’s a big deficiency in the default theme: the permalink post pages don’t have a side column where the tag cloud, archive links and recent posts are listed. As a result, people who go directly to a permalink page from the search engine won’t go much further than that page.

I wonder whether the other supplied themes fix this problem.

Filed in Web Design, WordPress.

One Response to Second Thoughts on WordPress’ Default Theme

  1. […] WordPress Theme Well, after living for nearly 2 months with the default WordPress theme, which I complained about in the past, I’ve finally bitten the bullet and changed the theme to one called “Contempt”. […]

Leave a Reply

