The Missing Up Arrow in Vista’s Explorer

About a year ago, I installed Vista on my machine for kicks. At that time, Vista was new, and everyone was excited about it. So was I. After it was installed, I soon ran into my first frustration with Vista. The Windows Explorer that ships with Vista does not have an UP arrow in the toolbar. The UP arrow in XP allows you to go up one level in the directory in an easy and convenient manner. The missing UP arrow means that something that used to take a single mouse click now takes multiple mouse clicks to accomplish the same thing.

While I know that there are many superior Windows Explorer replacements around, until then, Explorer suited my needs fine. I don’t understand the Vista team. Why is Vista’s usability so much worse than XP’s usability? Was it designed by a committee? (You know the saying, a camel is a horse designed by a committee.) The downhill slide towards lower usability in Vista is reflected in many other aspects of its interface. Did anyone at Microsoft actually try to measure their productivity loss when they migrated to Vista? Did anyone at Microsoft even use Vista daily for their actual work before releasing the OS? They need to eat their own dogfood before releasing it. Else the irritations of the OS will only be discovered when users try it out, and then they will give the OS a bad reputation.

Lest you think that I’m still suffering under the torture of Vista-usage, I reformatted the hard disk after about a month of usage, and reinstalled XP.

Update: Oh sheesh. It looks like I’m shooting off my mouth in ignorance. Apparently, Vista does have a better alternative to the Up arrow in Explorer after all. In my defense, let me say that the solution is not obvious.

Filed in Windows, Software, Opinion.

2 Responses to The Missing Up Arrow in Vista’s Explorer

  1. […] beginning to think that Microsoft should just give up hope on Vista. Like I said in my post on Vista’s usability issues, the OS is already plagued with a bad reputation. This kind of reputation is very hard to undo. […]

Leave a Reply

