Weep: DivX’s Stage6 to Close at the End of February

This is really sad news: Stage6, the free video sharing using DivX, is going to close at the end of February. It’s really sad, because it was one of the better video sharing sites around. Unlike YouTube’s crappy video quality, Stage6’s videos are high quality, and you can zoom to full screen without seeing any pixelation if the person who created the video uploaded a good quality version. YouTube’s videos can never be anything but crappy since the resolution is restricted to 320×240.

I guess with the demise of Stage6, I can finally uninstall my DivX. The only reason I installed it was to watch Stage6, which doesn’t work with the free Xvid codec.

Updates:

Filed in Video, Entertainment, News.

2 Responses to Weep: DivX’s Stage6 to Close at the End of February

  1. […] Closure Shows that Many People Feel the World Owes Them a Living I previously mentioned that Stage 6 was going to close at the end of February. When I moseyed along to their blog, I expected to see a lot of people mourning the death of a […]

  2. […] Incompetence of DivX Owners Killed the Goose that Laid the Golden Egg: Stage6 There seems to be more than meets the eye behind the Stage6 closure than I had assumed in my previous two posts. […]

Leave a Reply

