WordPress.com is Getting More Irritating By the Month: The Progressive Loss of Control

WordPress.com proves that you really need to install your own copy of WordPress for your own blog instead of outsourcing it to someone else.

  1. When I first started, I noticed that it plugged in links to its own tag pages into my blog posts. Ugh!
  2. Then I found that when I surfed to my posts without logging in, some of them contain ads. Yucks.
  3. The latest irritation is this “Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)” content that is embedded right into the content of some posts. The indignity!

There’s a progressive loss of control over the blog when you let others run things. I mean, who knows what they’re going to do next? Change words into ad links within your post itself? Can you even trust these people?

Filed in Outraged, WordPress, Web Design.

4 Responses to WordPress.com is Getting More Irritating By the Month: The Progressive Loss of Control

  1. Douglas says:

    Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry to hear that you’re disappointed with WordPress.com. We try to tread carefully when making changes and we always welcome your feedback. Feel free to click on that “Support” link at anytime and let us know what you think.

    Hopefully I can address a few of your concerns:

    – The tag / category listings is something we have received a lot of feedback on (from both supporters and detractors).
    – Ads are only showed to a very small percentage of visitors.
    – As it appears you have noticed, the possibly related post function can be turned off. A lot of bloggers like it because it helps them get quite a bit of traffic.

    Douglas
    WordPress.com Support

  2. I’m not as upset at the ads as I am those embedded links on tags/categories and “related posts”. The ads are obviously ads. Everyone takes ads with a pinch of salt.

    The tag links and related post links on the other hand, appear as though they were created by me. It’s like I endorse the links and what they point to. This is the biggest issue I have with them.

    Anyway, I didn’t know I could turn off the related post function. Thanks for letting me know.

    (Incidentally, I’m astonished that someone from WordPress.com actually stopped by to respond to my rant! Thanks for taking the time! 🙂 )

  3. Douglas says:

    You’re welcome! User feedback (even if the feedback is in the form of a rant, which I don’t think your post was) is always helpful to us and it is something we do constantly keep in mind. I encourage you to keep providing us with your feedback and letting us know what you think.

    Douglas
    WordPress.com Support

  4. Mr. I says:

    Want control? Why do you not use blogger? It gives you full control over site. There are thousands of templates available. Just have a look at my blog and feel the control I have over it. My blog is: i-blog-ul.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

