Careless Talk Costs Lives

The “careless talk costs lives” cliche from Hollywood movies may not be true in real life, as opposed to reel life, but such talk does have a price tag.

I realized that my own careless talk has brought about a big problem for someone dear to me. She confided in me, and I confided in a family member. That family member inadvertantly leaked the information. And now the person who shared to me faces big problems.

Even though that family member broke my confidence, the fault does not lie with that person. It lies with me. The confidence was not mine to share in the first place. The second party who hears that information does not have the relationship of trust with the original party. When I shared the information, I have in effect already broken the confidence.

I guess I’m not saying anything that makes sense, since I’m not revealing any details to help it make sense. But this breach of confidence is weighing heavily on me, and I can’t get in touch with the person whom I broke confidence with to apologize.

Unfortunately, there’s no catharsis in writing either.

Filed in: Personal.

Leave a Reply

